And the Poker Hall of Fame Winner is…

All votes are in! The judges for the 2010 Poker Hall of Fame have now collected their ballots and are slated to vote on a short line of ten players in order to determine the next hall of fame poker player.
On this year’s panel are Doyle Brunson, a ten time WSOP bracelet winner; eleven time WSOP bracelet winner, Phil Hellmuth, and 2009 hall of fame inductee Mike Sexton. These men will link with seventeen other industry leaders to determine the next legend of poker.

The top two poker stars who will enter the hall of fame will be selected be selected by a point system. Based on a ten point rating system between the candidates the leading two players will allowed induction before beginning of the final table at the World Series of Poker 10,000 Main Event in November. A cool $9 million will be awarded to the crowned king of the World Series final table.

Some of the contestants for this years vote are: Erik Seidel, Dan Harrington, Phil Ivey, Tom McEvoy, Barry Greenstein and Daniel Negreanu. One or two players selected from a publically voted shortlist will make it in. Here is a quick look at two of the more intriguing potentials:

Chris Ferguson, or better known by his moniker “Jesus” is leveraging his 2001 World Series of Poker Main Event championship and partial ownership of Full Tilt Poker to reign in the hall of fame nod. Despite his semi-impressive accolades he has not been in many high stakes games recently and has not really reached the level of a hall of famer.

Barry Greenstein, also know by his nick-name, the ‘Robin Hood of Poker’ is well known for charitable donations, two WPT titles, and three WSOP bracelets. His induction would not be surprising, especially after his popular book, Ace on the River.


Hot poker topics:


Comments are closed.